TechWeb

Grupo Salinas Founder and Chairman Ricardo B. Salinas Recognized as "Key Figure in Latin America" by U.S. Congressmember Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

Oct 02, 2012 (04:10 PM EDT)
URL: http://www.techweb.com/show-press-release/X925868/grupo-salinas-founder-and-chairman-ricardo-b-salinas-recognized-as-key-figure-in-latin-america-by-u-s-congressmember-ileana-ros-lehtinen.html

-- Reception together with ex-President of Colombia Alvaro Uribe was part of the Congressional Hispanic Leadership Institute's (CHLI's) First Annual Trade and International Affairs Symposium --

WASHINGTON, Oct. 2, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Grupo Salinas is pleased to share the pronouncement by US Congressmember and Foreign Affairs Committee Chair Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of our Founder and Chairman Ricardo B. Salinas as a ¨Key Figure in Latin America."

The recognition together with former President of Colombia Alvaro Uribe was part of the Congressional Hispanic Leadership Institute's (CHLI's) First Annual Trade and International Affairs Symposium held on Oct.1.

"Ricardo Salinas has been a pioneer in breaking down walls of competition in key industries in both Mexico and the rest of Latin America," noted Congressmember Ros-Lehtinen during her congressional remarks. She also added that Mr. Salinas' philanthropic work is ¨perhaps even more laudable," specifically mentioning the millions of dollars raised by Fundacion Azteca and the activities of Fundacion Azteca America, which include education, civic engagement and financial awareness for the US Latino community. The foundation has also been a "staunch supporter of comprehensive reform," according to Congressmember Ros.

The CHILI event was part of a series of public speaking engagements that included an address during the 45th annual US Chamber of Commerce Forecast on Latin America and the Caribbean conference.

Mr. Salinas later presented the findings of a joint study carried out with Grupo Salinas' Caminos de la Libertad and the Aspen Institute entitled Freedom and Connectivity: Advancing the Freedom to Communicate in the America. The report was part of the findings of a conference on the topic held earlier this year in Mexico City.

The following day, he participated in a dialogue at NDN that was co-hosted by New America Foundation, ASU's School of Transborder Studies and Georgetown University's Latin American Studies Department. The session analyzed the US-Mexico bilateral relationship from a business perspective.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Contact:
Daniel McCosh
+52 (55) 1720-0059
dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Ricardo Salinas