Press Releases

Unedited news and product information from vendors.

Grupo Salinas and the Universidad Iberoamericana Organize Forum on Government- Enforced Rights to Media Access Entitled 'Derecho de Replica: Censura o Garantia'
Mar 16, 2010 (05:03 PM EDT)


Event moderated by Professor Gabriela Warkentin, Director of the Communications Department, Universidad Iberoamericana

Distinguished participants include Senator Alejandro Zapata, Jorge Alcocer, Director of Voz y Voto magazine; Sergio Sarmiento, President of Caminos de la Libertad; Leo Zuckerman, multi-media political analyst and lecturer at CIDE; and Eugenio Herrera, Legal Counsel of Grupo Reforma

MEXICO CITY, March 16 /PRNewswire/ -- As part of an ongoing effort to support debate on the development of Mexico, Grupo Salinas is proud to organize in conjunction with the Universidad Iberoamericana the forum "Derecho de Replica: Censura o Garantia" to be held on March 17 at the Mexico City campus of the Universidad Iberoamericana.

The event brings together top scholars, analysts and politicians to discuss government-enforced rights of media access.

The Fairness Doctrine, rejected in the U.S. by the Supreme Court as an attack on the First Amendment that guarantees free speech, is now being adopted in Mexico, but without clear rules of application.

According to Sergio Sarmiento, president of Caminos de la Libertad, the decision is a major risk to freedom of expression in Mexico.

The event will be held from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm on Wednesday, March 17 in the Edificio de la Biblioteca of the Universidad Iberoamericana.

Caminos de la Libertad is a thought forum to discuss issues of freedom. The program is presided by Sergio Sarmiento by request of Grupo Salinas founder Ricardo B. Salinas.

For more information, visit http://www.caminosdelalibertad.com.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (http://www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast- growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, contributing to building the middle class of the countries where they operate, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (http://www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies, TV Azteca (http://www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (http://www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (http://www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (http://www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (http://www.aforeazteca.com.mx, Seguros Azteca (http://www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (http://www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. However, member companies share a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

    International Press Contact:

    Daniel McCosh
    dmccosh@gruposalinas.com
    011 52 55 1720 0059

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Caminos de la Libertad